About Peace at Home Family Shelter


Our Story


Founded in 1977 by a group of community members, Peace at Home was the very first domestic violence shelter in the state of Arkansas. Our current programs include a 24-hour crisis hotline, 50-bed emergency shelter, legal services, support groups, counseling, and housing assistance programs. All services are confidential and free of charge for survivors of domestic violence and their children. Each year, Peace at Home supports over 1,000 individuals in the community as they seek safety and independence. In our 44-year history, our shelter and services have expanded, but our focus has remained on helping families leave domestic violence safely and successfully.

Our Mission


Our mission is to empower victims of domestic violence to survive and thrive by nurturing their self-determination and courage; and to promote healthy relationships and compassionate communities through education, outreach, and advocacy.

Our Impact


At Peace at Home Family Shelter, we are committed to supporting survivors of intimate partner violence in Northwest Arkansas. In 2020 alone, we provided:

  • Safe shelter to 109 adults and 90 children escaping violence.
  • Housing assistance to 148 families in our community.
  • Legal services to 358 individuals, including divorce and child custody representation and assistance with obtaining orders of protection.
  • Counseling services to 65 survivors of domestic violence.
  • A listening ear and assistance to 1,074 crisis calls received through our hotline.


2019 - 2020 Annual Report

Download Now

Our Board Members


The Board of Directors of Peace at Home Family Shelter is an all-volunteer group comprised of individuals from our local community. They devote their time, talents, and resources to fulfilling the mission of Peace at Home.



Melissa Atkins

Doris Baldwin

Tina Bare

Tyler Benson

Teddy Cardwell

Melanie Gage

Sarah Langham

Julianna Munden

Blake Pennington

Maudie Schmitt

Sharon Wright

Our Leadership Staff

Teresa Mills
CEO

tmills@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Aurora Vicari
Director of Programs

avicari@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Lynn King
CFO

lking@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Melissa Hughes
Director of operations

mhughes@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Eva Terry
Development Director

eterry@peaceathomeshelter.com

Beth Looper
Lead Advocate

elooper@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Katelyn Admire
Senior Staff Attorney

kadmire@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Jean Kebis
Lead Staffing and Shelter Services Advocate

jkebis@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Maria Torres
Bilingual Counselor

mtorres@peaceathomeshelter.com

 

Mitzi O'Dell
Thrift Store Manager

modell@peaceathomeshelter.com

Want to Help?


Our work is making a difference in the lives of families in Northwest Arkansas every day, but we need your help.

990 Tax Return

Download